Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Wellington Win 21st Central Region Shield Title In Manawatu

In perfect rugby condition in Palmerston North earlier today, Wellington defeated Manawatu by 64 points to 24, after leading the match 38 points to 5 at half-time. With five championship points banked (and having secured maximum points in all three of their fixtures), Wellington won the Central Region for the 21st time in the 40th year of competition.

(The champion Wellington side with the Central Region Shield, in Palmerston North)

Close on their heels, Hawkes Bay finished the competition with 12 championship points after defeating the Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 team by 47 points to 19 at McLean Park after leading by 26 points to 5 at half-time. The Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 team finished the competition in third place, with 5 championship points, with winless Manawatu consigned to last place overall.

(Published: 09/09/23)




Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279