Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Thrilling Draw In Under 16 "Division A" Arm Wrestle

In a thrilling conclusion to the 2023 Hurricanes Under 16 Tournament played at Mitre 10 Park in Hastings today (proudly supported by New Zealand Community Trust), Hawkes Bay RFU and Wellington RFU fought to a stalemate result, with each side having scored 22 points at full-time.

Under the Rules of the Tournament, in the event of a draw, the team that beat the other in pool play is declared the winner, meaning that Wellington RFU won the Don Broughton Shield, having defeated Hawkes Bay RFU by 17 points to 15 earlier in the Tournament.

In the Final, expertly and impartially refereed by Ollie Michie from the WRRA, Wellington led the match by 17 points to 7 at half-time (with the benefit of a penalty try awarded for foul play in-goal), with Hawkes Bay fighting back to win the second spell by 15 points to 5.

In the playoff for third place, defending 2022 champions Manawatu RFU secured their first win of the Tournament, defeating Wellington’s second team by 26 points to 19, having narrowly lost to the same side by 8 points to 10 earlier in the Tournament.

For the first time in the trophy’s 14 year history, Manawatu were awarded the "Maanaki Tangata Trophy" for the team that exhibited the best team spirit and culture throughout the Tournament.

In the Division B Final for the Saracen’s Cup, defending 2022 champions Poverty Bay RFU leapt out to a 17 points to nil by half-time, before the old rugby truism “it’s a game of two halves” prevailed. Hawkes Bay RFU Development scored three tries, (two converted) in the second half to snatch the title by 19 points to 17, with Poverty Bay competing strongly to the final whistle.

In the other Division B Consolation Finals played, Whanganui RFU overcame a determined and competitive Wairarapa Bush RFU side by 29 points to nil to finish third overall.

Meanwhile, Horowhenua Kapiti RFU enjoyed their first win of the Tournament on Finals Day to finish in fifth place in Division B by defeating winless Ngati Porou East Coast RFU by 41 points to 19.

(Published: 28/09/23)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279