Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Horowhenua-Kapiti To Play First Final In 10 Years

For the first time since 2006, Horowhenua-Kapiti’s Under 16 team will contest the final of the Saracens Cup in the Hurricanes Under 16 Tournament on Thursday.

Finishing the top of Pool 2 in Division B, Horowhenua-Kapiti will play the unbeaten Wellington Development team in the 2016 Cup Final.

In Division A, Manawatu will look to reverse their earlier round-robin loss, as they look to claim the Don Broughton Shield in the Final to be played at Arena Manawatu at 11.00am.

The "Battle of the Bays" will played between Hawkes Bay and Poverty Bay in the play-off for third place in Division A.

The schedule of matches for Thursday is as follows:

Division B - 5th/6th Play-Off - Wanganui vs East Coast – 9.30am

Division B – 3rd/4th Play-Off – Wairarapa-Bush vs Hawkes Bay Development – 9.30am

Division B – Final – Wellington Development vs Horowhenua-Kapiti – 10.15am

Division A – 3rd/4th Play-Off – Hawkes Bay vs Poverty Bay – 11.00am

Division A – Final – Wellington vs Manawatu – 11.00am

(Published: 27/09/16)


Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279