Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Under 16 Saracens Cup Match To Be Played in Rangitukia

Rangitukia is located 26 kilometres north-east of Ruatoria and only 14 kilometres ("as the crow flies") from the most eastern point of New Zealand, East Cape Lighthouse. On Wednesday this week, Rangitukia will host the Division B match of the Saracens Cup to be played between Ngati Porou East Coast RFU and the Hawkes Bay RFU's development team.

The match will be played at George Nepia Memorial Park (also known as Papatakaro Rangitukia and "Windy Park"), the home ground of the Waiapu Rugby Sub-Union. George played in the blue and white jersey of the Rangers RFC based in Rangitukia (named after the “Forest Rangers” who fought the Hauhau of Te Kooti in the New Zealand Wars). Under his influence at the club, at least five players were selected for the Maori All Blacks in the 1930’s.

(The passport photo of George Nepia in 1924, and a picture of Rangitukia in 1963)

Having been a member of the All Black “Invincibles” team in 1924 and 1925 which was undefeated on its tour of the United Kingdom, Ireland, France and Canada, 22 years later in 1947 (as a 42 year old), Nepia was still playing for his club, when he played “a grand game at second five-eighths” defending the Duff Cup against the City club from Ruatoria. Following his playing days, George Nepia became a referee and took a keen interest in coaching the rugby rangatahi of the Waiapu Sub-Union for many years. George and his wife Huinga Koehere (Raupani) were farmers in Rangitukia before moving to the Wairarapa.

With the plans for Ngati Porou East Coast RFU to host the 2021 Tournament stymied by the COVID-19 pandemic, it it is fitting that this game can be hosted at the turangawaewae of one of New Zealand’s most revered All Black players, at the ground where his contribution to rugby is remembered.

(Published : 05/10/21)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279