Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

HSPCD Trust Awards Grant To Onslow College Player

The Trustees of the Hurricanes Schools Player-Coach Development Trust have agreed to make a grant from the Trust Fund to Xavier Woodhouse-Tavai from Onslow College in Wellington. A loose-forward (or lock), in 2022 Xavier is in the Onslow College 1XV, having been selected for the Wellington Maori Under 18 side in 2021 and the Wellington Under 16 Development side in 2020.

(Xavier Woodhouse-Tavai, Onslow College, 1XV)

Onslow College is a co-ed Wellington school with a roll of around 1,300; in 2022 the College has two boys’ rugby teams. Xavier’s grant from the Trust will enable him to attend the Advanced Players Course offered by IRANZ in Palmerston North, in July this year. In 2022, Xavier hopes to be selected to attend the Under 18 New Zealand Maori National Camp in Rotorua, play for the Under 18 New Zealand Maori rugby team and (as a result), perhaps have an opportunity on the Hurricanes development pathway.

(Published : 14/05/22)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279