Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Hawkes Bay & Wellington Win Under 16 Titles In Palmerston North

The matches for the sixteenth Saracen’s Cup and the forty-ninth Don Broughton Shield titles were played at the magnificent Sport & Rugby Institute in Palmerston North today, with Hawkes Bay and Wellington emerging victorious, in contrasting circumstances.

Don Broughton Shield – (Division A Final)

Manawatu had high hopes of lifting the Shield aloft for only the fifth time since 1972 and with less than 15 minutes to play were imagining that success as a likely reality, with the score 26 points to 7 in favour of the green team, having scored two tries in the first half and two in the second.

However a yellow-card issued to a Manawatu player for a high tackle by referee Isaac Hughes midway through the second-half, tipped the balance back to Hawkes Bay’s advantage, resulting in two quick converted tries when Manawatu were playing with 14 men, narrowing the margin to only five points. In the final two minutes of play, a converted try was enough for Hawkes Bay to "snatch victory from the jaws of defeat", by 28 points to 26.

Today’s win was the twenty-third time that Hawkes Bay have won the Don Broughton Shield, the most times of any Provincial Union in the Hurricanes region.

In the play-off for third-place in 2021, played in Wellington, Wellington defeated Wairarapa-Bush by 55 points to 17, after leading by 31 points to nil at half-time.

Saracens Cup – (Division B Final) 

Poverty Bay and Wellington (the defending Cup holders) had both scored maximum competition points in Division B’s preliminary fixtures, with the challengers (on paper) looking like serious contenders to lift the Cup for only the fifth time since it was first competed for in 2005.

However, it was not to be. Wellington defended their title scoring six unanswered tries before Poverty Bay scored a consolation touch-down toward the end of the game. The final score was 36 points to 5. The half-time score was 26 points to 0.

In other Division B Consolation Finals played today, 3rd place was won by Hawkes Bay (Development), with a victory at McLean Park against Horowhenua-Kapiti, by 41 points to 22. Fifth place was awarded to Whanganui after they defeated Ngati Porou East Coast by 34 points to 10 in Waipukurau.

(Photos courtesy of

(Published : 09/10/21)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279