Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

Winter Tournament Week Finishes With A Flourish

The Hurricanes Boys Under 15 Tournament concluded at St. Patrick's College, Silverstream yesterday, with the Grand Final being fought between two Auckland-based schools, with Kelston Boys High School prevailing over St. Peter's College. The Tournament Plate was won by Gisborne BHS who defeated Fielding HS by a single point, 13-12. Manukura from Manawatu won the Tournament Bowl 36 points to 12, while Taita College overcame Aotea College 44-10 to win the Tournament Shield.

(Kelston BHS from Auckland emerged as Tournament Winners for 2019)

The Boys' Under 14 Festival (which was not a Tournament), saw 14 teams from around New Zealand play a series of games against each other. While Winners were recorded, scores were not, with the goal to provide a Rugby Union opportunity for players who may not ordinarily play rugby as their preferred sport.

(The Under 14 Festival was played at Wellington's Wakefield Park, on Artificial Turf)

The Council acknowledges the work of David Fa'atafa and the team at College Sport Wellington for their hard-work in preparing and administering Wellington's Winter Tournament Week events.

(Published : 08/09/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Brad McLachlan

022 515 0372