Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Whanganui Win Under 20 Cup For Eighth Time

For the first time since 2017 (and for the eighth time since 2008), Whanganui RFU have won the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup, following a final round 50 points to 19 victory over a winless but gallant Poverty Bay RFU, in Palmerston North this afternoon.

(Whanganui RFU won their eighth title at the Sport & Rugby Institute in Palmerston North)

On cue for winter sport, at kick-off at 10.30am squally showers started to sweep across the Sport & Rugby Institute, making playing conditions for all four team who were competing in the final round of the 2022 competition. On the adjacent field to Whanganui and Poverty Bay, Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU (the defending Cup champions) piled on 30 points in the first half of their match against Wairarapa-Bush RFU, cruising to a comfortable 54 points to 3 win at full-time.

(Whanganui RFU were the team-to-beat in the 2022 Hurricanes Under 20 Series)

Going in to the final round, Wairarapa-Bush still had a chance to win the Cup had they been able to overcome Horowhenua-Kapiti (and had Whanganui lost their final match). In the first half, it took some time for Whanganui to get-going, although they managed to score three tries to take a 19 points to nil lead into the half-time break, while Poverty Bay were unlucky not to score themselves.

(Defending champions, Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU made a strong finish to their 2022 campaign)

Player of the Series was Whanganui’s Lafo Takiari-Ah Ching.

The Council’s Selectors have named a training squad of 26 players for their upcoming five fixture programme which will get underway on 19 August. You can read the details of the squad, here.

(The Council's referees were superbly supported by the Manawatu Rugby Referees Association)

(Published: 07/08/22)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279