Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Wellington Win Central Region Shield For Sixteenth Time

In a hard-fought Round 3 match played at Jerry Collins Stadium in Wellington, Wellington’s Under 19 side secured a 15 points to 7 victory against a determined Manawatu side.

(The victorious Wellington team with the Central Region Shield, their sixteenth title)

The win saw Wellington go through this year’s seeding tournament for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament unbeaten, also securing wins against Hawkes Bay and the Hurricanes Heartland side.

In yesterday’s other match in Napier, the Hurricanes Heartland team came from behind to defeat Hawkes Bay by 10 points to 8. In the second-half, a try to Dylan Bowater and a penalty and conversion to Ethan Robinson saw the visiting side emerge victors by 10 points to 8. The victory means that the Hurricanes Heartland side finished third overall in the competition.

(The Hurricanes Heartland team which finished third in the Central Region Shield)

This year was the 35th competition for the Central Region Shield since the trophy was introduced in 1983. Wellington have now won the Shield 16 times, Hawkes Bay 15 times and Manawatu 4 times.

Placings for the 2017 Central Region Shield are: (1) Wellington; (2) Manawatu; (3) Hurricanes Heartland; (4) Hawkes Bay. Wellington and Manawatu will compete for the Graham Mourie Cup at the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament, while Hawkes Bay will compete for the Michael Jones Cup.

(Published : 03/09/17)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279