Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Wellington Under 19 Win 17th Central Region Shield Title

Wellington scored 10 tries on their way to defeating Manawatu by 64 points in 19 in their Round 3 Central Region Shield match at Jerry Collins Stadium in Porirua today.

Todd Svenson and Caleb Delany both scored twice, Tane Te Aho, Taine Plumtree, Kienan Higgins, Albert Polu, DJ Taiopu and Tai Neli also touching down. For Manawatu, Pawhere Kershaw scored twice, with replacement winger Trevahn Ta’ufo’ou  also awarded five points.

Wellington have now won the Shield 17 times, Hawkes Bay 12 times and Manawatu 4 times.

In today’s other Round 3 match, the Hurricanes Heartland team led Hawkes Bay by 19 points to 12 at Tremain Field in Napier, before a strong second-half performance by the Junior Magpies saw the home team draw clear by 54 points to 26.

The final Points Table for the Tournament, proudly sponsored by Wellington's Karaka Cafe, are: Wellington, 15; Hawkes Bay, 10; Hurricanes Heartland, 6; and Manawatu, 0.

Both Wellington and Hawkes Bay will play in the Top 8 section of the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament, while Manawatu will play in the Bottom 8 section. 8 players from the Hurricanes Heartland team will now join the New Zealand Heartland Under 19 team.

The Player of the Tournament was Naitoa Ah Kuoi (Wellington RFU).

You can listen to the radio commentary of today’s match at Jerry Collins Stadium, by clicking here.

(Published : 01/09/18)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279