Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Wellington Centurions Win Hurricanes Under 18 Title

For the first time since it was first competed for in 1992, Wellington's Centurions RFC have won the Trustbank Central Secondary School Shield, by defeating Wairarapa-Bush by 50 points to 10 at Trust House Memorial Park in Masterton.

In the other two Consolation Finals played today, the Wellington Community team defeated the Wellington Samoans by 36 points to 19, in Wellington, while Wanganui narrowly defeated Horowhenua-Kapiti by 29 points to 26, in Wanganui.

In Masterton, both teams were undefeated going in to today’s Grand Final, but it was the Wellington Centurions who showed more power and pace to take a 24 points to 5 lead into the half-time break. The margin increased in the second-half, with a Wairarapa-Bush’s defence unable to hold out the slick passing and continuity of possession demonstrated by the visitors.

The Shield was donated to the former Central Region Secondary Schools governing body in the 1990’s by TrustBank Central (formerly Wanganui Savings Bank and Eastern & Central Savings Bank) which operated from Gisborne in the East to Masterton and Levin in the South and New Plymouth in the West.

(Published : 29/09/18)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279