Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Wellington And Hawkes Bay Under 16 Teams, Round 1 Winners

In Pre-Tournament Round 1 fixtures for the annual Hurricanes Under 16 Tournament, Wellington RFU and Hawkes Bay RFU both won matches in the competition for the Don Broughton Shield (Division A) and Saracens Cup (Division B), respectively.

In the Don Broughton Shield Competition, Wellington A had a convincing 59 points to 10 win over Manawatu, while Hawkes Bay emerged 43 points to 10 winners over neighbours, Poverty Bay.

In the competition for the Saracens Cup, Wellington Development defeated Horowhenua-Kapiti by 48 points to 15, while Hawkes Bay Development accounted for Wairarapa-Bush by 32 points to 5.

The Don Broughton Shield has a history spanning 44 years, being first competed for in 1972.

The Shield was donated by Don Broughton who was originally from Patea, in Taranaki. He was a member of the Nga Rauru iwi. A full story about Don can be found on this web-site.

The Under 16 Tournament proper gets underway at Wanganui Collegiate in the first week of the October school holidays, with Wellington the defending champions of both Divisions A and B.

Full details of the Tournament Draw are found on this web-site.

(Published : 24/09/17)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279