Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

Wanganui Finish Top Seed For Under 18 Finals

A bonus point flourish against the Hawkes Bay Saracens at Spriggens Park today, has seen Wanganui secure a Home Final for the 2019 Trustbank Secondary School Shield. The 41 points to 18 scoreline was enough for Wanganui to earn maximum points through the first three seeding rounds of the 2019 Competition. They'll face the defending champions from Wellington (Centurions RFC) next Saturday, in a match which is billed to be the Curtain-Raiser to Wanganui's Heartland Championship match against Ngati Porou East Coast.

(Wanganui will host the Trustbank Secondary School Shield Final next Saturday)

The Centurions had no difficulty overcoming Horowhenua-Kapiti by 62 points to 10 in Otaki, while the Wellington Samoans ran up a similar score against Wairarapa-Bush in Petone, winning by 63 points to 9. The Wellington Samoans finished as third seed and are seeded to play Poverty Bay who had a big win over neighbours Ngati Porou East Coast by 54 points to 7.

(East Coast had a tough day against Poverty Bay at Hatea a Rangi Domain in Ruatoria)

The Finals Draw for next Saturday, is as follows:

- Wanganui (1) vs Wellington Centurions RFC (2)

- Wellington Samoans (3) vs Poverty Bay (4)

- Hawkes Bay Saracens (5) vs Horowhenua-Kapiti (6)

- Wairarapa Bush (7) vs Ngati Porou East Coast (8)

(Published : 14/09/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Brad McLachlan

022 515 0372