Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Wairarapa-Bush Prepare To Defend Their 2019 Under 20 Title

In 2019, Wairarapa-Bush won their first Hurricanes regional Under 20 championship in 12 years. The first match in the defence of their title kicks-off in Napier on Saturday, against a well-organised Poverty Bay side who are looking to put in an improved performance compared to their 2019 campaign, where they finished in last place.

Since 2015 when the Series was introduced in its current format, Whanganui RFU have won the Cup four times (from 2014 to 2017 inclusive), with Horowhenua-Kapiti winning the Cup in 2018. The Series was not played in 2020 owing to the cancellation of all representative rugby, as a result of the COVID-19 outbreak.

The 2021 Series culminates at the Sport & Rugby Institute on 7 and 8 August, where two games are played on consecutive days. At the end of the Series a Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 team will be announced to compete for the Central Region Shield against Hawkes Bay, Manawatu and Wellington.

(Published : 29/07/21)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279