Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Wainuiomata, St John’s College And Manukura Grab Semi-Final Spots

In knock-out Cup fixtures played today, Wainuiomata High School (Wellington RFU), St. John’s College (Hawkes Bay RFU) and Manukura (Manawatu RFU) won Semi-Final berths in the Life Members Cup (for boys) and in the Rex Kerr Cup (for girls).

At Ongley Park in Palmerston North, Manukura trounced Feilding High School in a Quarter-Final match for the Rex Kerr Cup, by 64 points to nil. Following  a special jersey presentation featuring Black Ferns Sevens Captain Sarah Hirini, Manukura were to secure a decisive victory over their local rivals and will now face Otaki Te Rāhui Kura (Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU) in one Cup Semi-Final.

The other Cup Semi-Final will be played between St. Mary's College (Wellington RFU) and Hastings Girls High School (Hawkes Bay RFU) - (fixture details to be confirmed).

(The Manukura side which defeated Feilding Girls High School by 64 points to 0)

Earlier at Ongley Park, St. John’s College from Hastings won their Quarter-Final match in the Life Members Cup by 48 points to 12 over a Horowhenua Combined Colleges side featuring players from Waiopehu College, Horowhenua College and Manawatu College. The half-time score was 22-5 in favour of St. John’s.

(St. John's College defend their line against Horowhenua Combined Colleges)

In today’s other Quarter-Final match for the Life Members Cup, Wainuiomata High School were too strong for Wairarapa-Bush’s Makoura College in the second-half, taking a 12-7 half-time lead to a convincing 38-7 full-time score. Wainuiomata will now play St. John’s College in the Semi-Finals.

The other Semi-Final for the Life Members Cup will be played between Manukura and Lindisfarne College tomorrow, in Palmerston North at 1.00pm.

(The Wainuiomata High School side which defeated Makoura College by 38 points to 7)

(Published : 19/08/20)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279