Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Under 20 Teams Bring Provincial Union Pride To Palmerston North

The Sport & Rugby Institute in Palmerston North played host to the final round of the Hurricanes Under 20 Development Series last weekend.

Media reports from the Series, can be read from the Gisborne Herald, (click here), or the Wanganui Chronicle (click here).

In the match for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup, Wairarapa-Bush won the trophy for the first time in its history, with a nail-biting one-point win over Horowhenua-Kapiti, 23-22.

Horowhenua-Kapiti were never out of the game, despite trailing by 9 points at the half-time break and were unlucky not to successfully defend the title they won in 2018.

In the battle for third and fourth places, previously winless Wanganui were able to come back from a two-point half-time deficit to defeat Poverty Bay by 22 points to 17.

Poverty Bay were unable to defend their 10 points to 8 half-time lead, but demonstrated resilience in defending repeated waves of attack in the second-half, also scoring a converted try.

(Published : 11/08/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279