Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Three Teams Vie For Under 20 Cup In Final Round Of Heartland Series

Either of Horowhenua-Kapiti, Wairarapa-Bush or Wanganui could receive the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup next Saturday, following Round 2 of the Heartland Development Series, played in Palmerston North yesterday afternoon.

Only Poverty Bay is out of contention for the Cup, despite having earned a bonus point, having narrowly lost to Wanganui 13-19, playing much of the second-half with 14 men.

For Horowhenua-Kapiti to win the Cup, they will need to beat Poverty Bay next Saturday, with a four-try bonus point and hope that Wairarapa-Bush defeat Wanganui by no more than three tries.

For Wairarapa-Bush to earn the title for 2016, they will need to beat Wanganui and hope that Poverty Bay beat Horowhenua-Kapiti, or score a four-try bonus point against Wanganui.

Having won two games in the first two rounds, all Wanganui need to do is to defeat Wairarapa-Bush by any margin to defend their 2015 title.

In any event, with both games kicking-off at 1.00pm, next Saturday looks to be an exciting conclusion to the 2016 Heartland Development Series.

(Published: 21/08/16)







Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279