Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

2016 Under 19 Seeding Tournament Starts With An Avalanche Of Points

The first round of the Under 19 Seeding Tournament started with both Manawatu and Wellington scoring an avalanche of points against their respective oppositions.

In Palmerston North, the Hurricanes Under 19 Barbarians scored first, but were then held scoreless as Wellington scored over 35 points in each half of the game.

Meanwhile, in Napier, Manawatu started their campaign with a flourish, defeating Hawkes Bay by scoring 56 points to 7. As a result, next week’s match in Wellington for Hawkes Bay is a must-win if they wish to play in the Premiership Section of the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament next month.

Manawatu will feel confident in making it two-from-two against the Barbarians next weekend, with Round 3 potentially being the decider for which of the three sides plays in the Championship Section of the Tournament.

NB: Owing to the Hurricanes Barbarians comprising some age-ineligible players, each of Hawkes Bay, Manawatu and Wellington will automatically register 4 Competition Points for their fixtures against the Hurricanes Barbarians. Points Differential for these matches (for use in determining Round 3 Home Advantage) will be recorded as zero.

(Published : 28/08/16)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279