Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

Under 18 Competition Wide Open After Two Rounds

The competition for the Trustbank Secondary School Shield is wide-open after the second round was played across the Hurricanes region on Saturday. In Masterton, Horowhenua-Kapiti overcame an 11 points half-time deficit to snatch victory by 24 points to 21 against Wairarapa-Bush, while in Wairoa, Poverty Bay registered their first win of the competition, defeating the Hawkes Bay Saracens by 20 points to 10.

In Palmerston North, Wanganui scored their second consecutive bonus point win accounting for East Coast by 40 points to 14, while in the final match of the round, the two Wellington-based teams engaged in an arm wrestle at the Petone Recreation Ground which saw the Centurions RFC win 17 points to 12 against the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union side.

(Provincial Union neighbours, Poverty Bay and Hawkes Bay enjoyed an entertaining match in Wairoa)

Going into Round 3, Wanganui lead the Points Table with 10 championship points, closely followed by the Centurions RFC on 9. However all but Wairarapa-Bush and East Coast could overtake them next weekend, depending on results. East Coast, Horowhenua-Kapiti and Wanganui all host home fixtures as Curtain-Raisers to their Heartland Championship sides.

(Horowhenua-Kapiti came from behind to defeat Wairarapa-Bush in Masterton)

(Published : 08/09/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Matt Taylor

027 509 6727