Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

Under 18 Competition Extends To Ten Teams In 2020

The Manawatu RFU and Wellington Maori RFU will be new additions to the Competition Draw for the Trustbank Secondary School Shield in 2020. To be played across two pools and five weekends, the Competition will one pool cross-over fixture in each of the four preliminary rounds before the Finals Day on Saturday, 19 September.

In Pool A, Defending Champions, the Centurions RFC from Wellington, will need to overcome the Wellington Samoan RFU side, plus the teams from Manawatu RFU, Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU and Wanganui RFU. In Pool B, the Wellington Maori RFU team (Te Upoko o te Ika) will travel to Ruatoria to play a Heartland Championship Curtain-Raiser against Ngati Porou East Coast, as well as matches against the Hawkes Bay RFU team, Wairarapa-Bush and the Wellington Samoan RFU side.

The first round of competition kicks-off on Saturday, 22 August.

You can see the full Competition Draw by clicking here.

(Published : 14/03/20)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Brad McLachlan

022 515 0372