Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

TrustBank Central Shield Under 18 Competition Starts On Saturday

The Hurricanes Under 18 Competition for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield kicks-off on Saturday with three fixtures being played in Gisborne, Wairoa and Wanganui.

The Shield was donated to the former Central Region Secondary Schools governing body in the 1990’s by TrustBank Central (formerly Wanganui Savings Bank and Eastern & Central Savings Bank) which operated from Gisborne in the East to Masterton and Levin in the South and New Plymouth in the West.

(The TrustBank Central Secondary Schools' Rugby Shield)

In 2016, five Under 18 teams representing that history are competing for the Shield (East Coast, Horowhenua-Kapiti, Poverty Bay, Wairarapa-Bush and Wanganui), with the sixth team from Wellington, representing the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union.

Of note, the game between East Coast and Wairarapa-Bush is being played at Wairoa Athletic Rugby Football Club, which itself was created in 1939 from the merger of various clubs in the region.

The competition is played in three rounds over three consecutive weekends.

Wellington RFU is the current holder of the Shield but will not defend its title in 2016.



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279