Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Wellington Samoan Schools Successfully Defend Under 18 Hurricanes Title

Wellington Samoan Schools were celebrating following the Grand Final of the Hurricanes Under 18 Competition, played at Porirua Park today.

After leading 19 points to 10 at half-time, the defending champions defeated Centurions RFC by 36 points to 17, winning the Trustbank Central Secondary School Shield for 2017. Today's Final was the 26th time that the Shield has been played for and the third time that a Samoan Team has won the title.

In a hard-running game with bruising tackles across the park, the Samoans showed better control of the ball when in possession and solid defence throughout.

Despite conceding the lead to the previously unbeaten Centurions side early in the match, a converted try either side of half-time was enough to establish a useful buffer which only narrowed due to a consolation converted try scored by the Centurions on the full-time whistle.

In the only other Under 18 match played today, Poverty Bay defeated East Coast by 24 points to 7.

The unofficial Final Standings for the Under 18 Competition, for 2017 are:

1. Wellington Samoan RFU

2. Centurions RFC

3. Wellington Catholic Schools Rugby

4. Wanganui RFU

5. Poverty Bay RFU

6. Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU

7. Wairarapa-Bush RFU

8. East Coast RFU

(Published : 23/09/17)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279