Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

56 Players To Gain Expert Insight To World Of Professional Rugby

Following the 2016 Hurricanes Under 16 Tournament, a group of 56 players have been selected to attend the annual Hurricanes Under 17 Development Camp to be held at the Hurricanes Training Base on 11 December.

The one day Camp provides an insight to the world of professional rugby, with sessions focused on nutrition, mental skills and physical training.

New Zealand Rugby’s Convenor of Selectors, Darren Larsen, sees the Camp as an excellent opportunity for aspiring players to learn what it takes to embark on a potential career as a professional player.

“With professional rugby now a career choice for players once they leave school, it’s important that players and their parents develop a good understanding of what’s involved in becoming a professional sports person.”

Hurricanes High Performance Manager, Chris Stirling, believes that the Hurricanes franchise is well positioned to providing a series of stepping stones to professional rugby, for players with potential.

“Some players from this group may be invited to join our Apprentice Scheme, which is a unique programme for school-age players to gain exposure to the Hurricanes working environment, in the 2017 season.” 

The Under 17 Camp forms part of the comprehensive programme for teenage rugby administered by the Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council on behalf of the regions 8 Provincial Unions. Council Chairman, Gordon Noble-Campbell said.

“The Hurricanes Region is a strong contributor to the strength of New Zealand Rugby at all levels, both through our Provincial Union Teams and our Super Rugby affiliation with the Hurricanes. This Camp is an important part of growing that link to create future success.”

The players selected for the Development Camp, are as follows.

East Coast RFU

Chase Sheridan, Wheturangi Grant-Karaka, Carlos Paenga, Antonio Leawere.

Hawkes Bay RFU

Liam Udy Johns, Nathan Giles, Damarus Hokianga, Patrick Teddy, Raniera Peterson, Sam Henderson, Tyrone Thompson, Josh Gimblett.

Horowhenua Kapiti RFU

Vaughn McCardle, Tama Cook, Reece Wyatt.

Manawatu RFU

James Stratton, Stewart Cruden, Tyler Laubscher, James Bolton, Josiah Mareku, Drew Wild, James Woodmass, Rawiri Chambers.

Poverty Bay RFU

Tyrin Wyllie, Sione Ki-Nuia, Tee Paenga, Moses Christie, Billy Priestly.

Wairarapa Bush RFU

Sam Smith, Jack Eschenbach, Harry Mckay, Cooper Jamieson, Isaac Bracewell.

Wanganui RFU

Ben Kelt, Paiki Ponga, Hayden O'Leary.

Wellington RFU

Moala Katoa, Luke Mannix, Ropati So'oalo, Stanley Paese, Taine Plumtree, Iona Apineru, Keelan Whitman, Josh Mallon , Harrison Boyle, Albert Polu, Malo Manuao,  Jaylen Tuapola, Caleb Cavubati, Ish Perkins, Riley Forbes, Josh Southall, Shaquille Fiso, Kienan De Le Rambelje, Devon Oliver–Bell, Ben Cusin.



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279