Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Wet Weather Rugby For Under 16 First Round

Hawkes Bay, Horowhenua-Kapiti and both Wellington teams won their first matches in the 2016 Under 16 Tournament played in Wairoa, Waipukurau, Otaki and Wellington on Saturday.

Weather conditions were worst in the southern part of the region, with torrential rain falling in Wellington for most of the day. That didn’t dampen the spirits of the Wellington Development Team who were able to secure a 43 points to 8 victory over Wairarapa-Bush at the Petone Recreation Ground.

(Wellington A won their first Tournament match against Manawatu on Saturday)

A little further north of the Capital, Wellington A scampered away from Manawatu with a 32 points to 5 win at the Rahui Rugby Club in Otaki. The other two matches played on Saturday were a lot closer.

(It was a muddy encounter at Rahui Rugby Club for Wellington A against Manawatu)

Horowhenua-Kapiti travelled to the Central Hawkes Bay Rugby Sports Club in Waipukurau to play the Hawkes Bay Development Team and returned home with a one point margin win, 19 points to 18.

(Wairarapa-Bush get ready to play in the torrential rain on Saturday)

And in Wairoa, Hawkes Bay were able to hang on to win by three points, 27 to 24 over a determined  Poverty Bay side. For Hawkes Bay, tries were scored by: Damarus Hokianga-Heather; Patrick Teddy; Tekahika Thompson and Liam Udy-Johns who also scored 2 conversions and 1 penalty.

(Wellington Development warm-up at Petone)

The next round of competition will on the 26th of September, when the Tournament gets underway in Palmerston North.

(Published: 18/09/16)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279