Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Two New Champions Emerge At 2019 Hurricanes Sevens

At Rathkeale College on Saturday, Manawatu schools won a clean-sweep of Championship Titles, with Palmerston North Boys High School and Manukura winning the Boys' and Girls' sections of the 6th annual Hurricanes Secondary School Sevens Tournament at Rathkeale College, in Masterton.

In the Boys' Final, Palmerston North Boys High School defeated Wanganui Collegiate by 33 points to 24, after accounting for Feilding High School in the Semi-Finals. In the Girls' Final, Manukura were too strong for Feilding High School, emerging victorious by 29 points to 15.

You can see photos from the Tournament, by clicking here.

The Tournament Teams named at the conclusion of Saturday's competition, are as follows:

Girls Tournament Team

Pippa Burgess-Smith – Palmerston North Girls' High School

Rangimarie Sturmey – Feilding High School

Alexis Tauaneai – Wainuiomata High School

Nikita Herlihy – Wairarapa College

Izzy Rewiri-Wharerau – Manukura

Kaipo Olsen Baker – Manukura

Paris Paul – Manukura

Boys Tournament Team

Terrence Graham – Feilding High School

Herman Seumanufagai – St Patricks College, Wellington

Khya Wilson – St Patricks College, Wellington

Semi Vodosese – Wanganui Collegaite

Ruben Love – Palmerston North Boys' High School

Jayden Keelan – Palmerston North Boys' High School

Sam Porter-Samuels – Lindisfarne College

With thanks to Rathkeale College and the Wairarapa Bush Rugby Football Union for their support in creating another successful Tournament for the Hurricanes region.

(Published : 20/10/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279