Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

TÅ«ranganui-A-Kiwa Welcomes Hurricanes Under 16 Players

Poverty Bay Rugby Football Union, four-time winners of the Lochore Cup, will welcome teams from the Hurricanes eight Member Provincial Unions to Gisborne next week, for the annual Under 16 Tournament for the Don Broughton Shield (currently held by Hawkes Bay RFU), Saracens Cup (currently held by Wellington RFU) and Manaaki Tangata Trophy (currently held by East Coast RFU).

You can read more about the Tournament (including Team Lists) by clicking here.

The Tournament Draw is as follows.

Monday, 30 September

Division A

Hawkes Bay v Wairarapa-Bush, 12.30pm
Wellington v Manawatu , 2.00pm

Division B

Poverty Bay  v Horowhenua-Kapiti, 12.30pm
Wellington Development v Hawkes Bay Development, 12.30pm (Non-Competition)
Wanganui v East Coast, 2.00pm

Tuesday, 1 October

Division A

Hawkes Bay v Wellington, 11.00am
Manawatu  v  Wairarapa Bush, 12.30pm

Division B

East Coast v Wellington Development, 11.00am
Wanganui v Poverty Bay, 11.00am (Non-Competition)
Horowhenua-Kapiti v Hawkes Bay Development, 12.30pm

Thursday, 3 October

Division A

3 v 4, 10.00am
1 v 2, 11.30am

Division B

3 (Pool A) v 3 (Pool B), 10.00am
2 (Pool A) v 2 (Pool B), 10.00am
1 (Pool A) v 1 (Pool B), 11.30am

(Published : 25/09/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Brad McLachlan

022 515 0372