Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

TrustBank Central Secondary School Shield To Be Decided Next Saturday

Following yesterday’s fixtures in the Hurricanes Under 18 Competition, either Wairarapa-Bush or Wellington Samoan Secondary Schools will win the TrustBank Central Secondary School Shield. Both teams will meet in Wellington, with the winner of the match becoming the 2016 Under 18 champion.

In Masterton yesterday, Wairarapa-Bush scored a bonus point 39 points to 12 victory over Horowhenua-Kapiti, placing them on equal competition points with Wellington Samoan Secondary Schools who also scored a bonus point win against Wanganui in Levin, by 46 points to 22.

Regardless of the results in next weekend’s other two matches, which will determine final placings for 3rd to 6th, only Wellington Samoan and Wairarapa-Bush can claim the Shield. In the event of a draw, the team with the better points differential will win the title and the Shield.

(Published: 18/09/16)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Brad McLachlan

022 515 0372