Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

Development Trust Applications Extended To 30 April

Given the COVID-19 national shut-down, the Trustees of the Hurricanes Schools Player–Coach Development Trust have agreed to extend the period for applications from eligible persons for Grants in the 2020 calendar year, via their Provincial Union, until 30 April.

In considering applications (which can only be made via a player's Provincial Union), the Trustees have regard to: the rugby and or coaching record of the applicant; the financial or employment situation of the applicant; the eligibility for or availability to the applicant of assistance from other sources by way of scholarships, grants or otherwise. Grants are made to cover a specific course of training, coaching or instruction that will help applicants up-skill their rugby career, or stay in the game.

The number of Grants and the amount of individual Grants, normally one, are determined by the Trustees (at their sole discretion), but they are not obliged to make a Grant (or Grants) if in any year they consider the applicant or applicants do not meet acceptable standards. For more information, please contact your Provincial Union Council Member – (click here for their details).

(Published : 25 March 2020)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Brad McLachlan

022 515 0372