Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

St. Mary's Wins Girls Under 15 Tournament In Levin

A loss to Rahui RFC in Pool-Play was not enough to prevent St. Mary's College from Wellington, from winning the Hurricanes Girls Under 15 Tournament played in Levin at Playford Park earlier this week. Both teams eventually met in the Tournament Final, with St. Mary's College avenging their earlier 31 points to 15 defeat to Rahui, with a 22 points to 12 victory in the match which decided the Tournament Champion.

The Final Placings of the Tournament were: (1) St Mary’s College - Wellington RFU; (2) Rahui RFC - Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU; (3) Feilding High School - Manawatu RFU; (4) Ngati Porou East Coast RFU; (5) Palmerston North Girls High School - Manawatu RFU; (6) Mana College - Wellington RFU.

With warm thanks to Aleni Feagaiga from Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU and Marina Canterbury from Manawatu RFU for their roles in managing and supporting the Tournament in 2019.

(Published : 04/09/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279