Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Southerly Snap Sweeps Stream And Nga Wahine To Victory

In a day where the weather was more reminiscent of mid-winter than mid-spring, St. Patrick’s College, Silverstream and Nga Wahine Toa collected the Winners trophies at the 5th Annual Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Tournament, in Masterton.

Played at Rathkeale College’s picturesque grounds, 10 boys teams and 4 girls teams battled their way through driving rain, a biting southerly breeze and (on occasion) bright sunshine, with the Finals played at the end of a demanding day.

In the Boys Division, St. Patrick’s College, Silverstream met Napier Boys High School in the Final match, with the Scott Waldrom coached side winning by the narrow margin of 24 points to 21, after Napier had earlier conceded two tries during a sin-bin infringement. In the Girls Division, Nga Wahine Toa from Hawkes Bay were three tries to one winners over Feilding High School with the final score 15 points to 5.

The Council thanks Caleb Agnew-Jones and the team from the Wairarapa Bush Rugby Football Union for their work in organising another successful Tournament. Thanks also to the Match Officials from the Wairarapa Bush and Wellington Rugby Referees Associations for their support of the Tournament.

The Tournament Teams named at the conclusion of the Tournament, were as follows:

Boys Division

Fritz Rayasi (St. Patrick’s College, Silverstream)
Harry McKay (Wairarapa Barbarians)
Liam Collet (Wellington College)
Oscar Schmidt-Uili (St. Patrick’s College, Wellington)
Sam Smith (Wairarapa College)
Tyrone Thompson (Napier Boys High School)
Rocco Berry (St. Patrick’s College, Silverstream)

Girls Division

Kesia Transom (Feilding High School)
Aprillia Huata (Nga Wahine Toa)
Naomi Sopoaga (Queen Margaret College)
Te Araroa Sopoaga (Queen Margaret College)
Brianna Wallace (Feilding High School)
Te Airu Te Pou (Nga Wahine Toa)
Amelia Pasikala (Nga Wahine Toa)

(Published : 14/10/18)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279