Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

2019 Under Tournament Finals Day Finishes With A Flourish

The Finals Day of the 2019 Under 16 Tournament, hosted by the Poverty Bay Rugby Football Union, wrapped up in Gisborne today, with a wealth of talent and skills on display.

In Division A, Wellington A overcame a second-half deficit to narrowly beat defending champions Hawkes Bay A for the Don Broughton Shield, with a successful conversion to a try scored at full-time. In the play-off for Third Place, Manawatu successfully defended a second-half lead to defeat a resurgent Wairarapa-Bush side by 36 points to 31.

In Division B, Wellington Development faced their toughest challenge in their campaign to defend the Saracens Cup, overcoming hosts Poverty Bay by 30 points to 12. In the other Division B matches, Hawles Bay Development finished in Third Place overall, while Horowhenua-Kapiti enjoyed a Finals Day victory over Ngati Porou East Coast.

The Tournament had the benefit of an excellent panel of referees selected by Brian Robertson and Alan Mettrick from across the Hurricanes region, without whose contribution the Tournament would not have been successful as it was.

Finally, the Council's Executive Board would like to warmly thank Josh Willoughby, Karen Bryant and the team at the Poverty Bay Rugby Football Union for their generous support in hosting the 2019 Hurricanes Under 16 Tournament.

(Published : 03/10/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279