Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Samoan Schools Look To Repeat History In Under 18 Final

22 years ago, in 1994, a touring Western Samoan Schools team was invited to compete in the annual inter-provincial tournament for the Under 18, Trustbank Central Secondary Schools Shield, held in Napier that year.

Western Samoa won the Shield in the Final played against Hawkes Bay at Park Island. Included in the Western Samoan Schools team that year was Opeta Palepoi, who subsequently represented Manu Samoa and the Wellington Lions, as well as playing 100 games of Club Rugby for Northern United.

Fast forward to 2016 and in the 25th year of competition for the Shield, for only the second time in the history of the competition, a team of schoolboys of Samoan descent representing the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, will attempt to win the Shield once more.

The first time the Shield was competed for was in 1992, at which time there were 13 players of Samoan descent in the Wellington RFU team: Tofiga Fepuleai and Gene Lutton from Rongotai College; Sam Leota and Graham Webster from Mana College; Joe Filemu, Paulo Savelio, Vili Kelemete, Michael Nui, Sio Thomas and Llaga Lokeni from Bishop Viard College; Shanu Vaeluaga from St. Bernard’s College; and Chris Vaoliko from Porirua College.

In the past 24 years, Wellington RFU has won the Shield 13 times (once jointly with Hawkes Bay), Hawkes Bay have won 10 times (including once jointly with Wellington), Taranaki have won once and Western Samoa once.

In 2016, the Shield has been competed for between Under 18 teams from East Coast, Horowhenua-Kapiti, Poverty Bay, Wairarapa-Bush, Wanganui and Wellington Samoan Schools. On Saturday, it will be Wairarapa-Bush RFU who will contest the Final, with both teams unable to be overtaken on the Points Table.

Included in the Wairarapa-Bush team is half-back Ben Renton from Rathkeale College who attended the Hurricanes Under 18 Camp earlier this season and six members of the Wairarapa College 1XV team who finished 4th in the Weltec Premiership. Rathkeale College who played in the Wairarapa RFU 1XV Final are also well represented in the side.

The Wellington Samoan Schools team includes a selection of players from Wellington’s Weltec Premiership Colleges, with Wellington College, St. Patrick’s College, Bishop Viard College, Aotea College, St. Bernard’s College, Rongotai College and Porirua College all represented in the team.

Kick-Off is at 2.30pm on the Petone Recreation Ground, on Saturday. The match will be refereed by Sam Couper (Manawatu), with Assistant Referees Jordan Price, Matt Thomas, and Marius Du Toit (Substitutions).

The match will also be live broadcast on Te Upoko O Te Ika Radio (1161AM), with delayed broadcast coverage from 5.00pm on Radio 2ZE in the Wairarapa.

(Pubished: 22/09/16)




Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279