Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Round 2 Of Central Region Shield Leaves Unanswered Questions

The 2019 Central Region Shield heads into Round 3 with the 2019 title still undecided, but with Hawkes Bay needing to beat Wellington by 60 points or more next Saturday in Wellington to secure the title. In terms of seeding places for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament, Wellington have now secured their spot in the Top 8, but it will take next week’s games to determine who of Hawkes Bay or Manawatu will join them for the Cup Championship in Taupo.

(Wellington's Taine Plumtree scored four tries in the second-half : Photo Credit, Mike Lewis)

Last night at Westpac Stadium, there was some symmetry in the scoring, as Wellington blitzed the Hurricanes Heartland team in a second-half try-scoring whirl-wind which saw the hosts runaway with an 82 points to 7 victory, after leading  28 points to 7 at half-time. Taine Plumtree scored four tries for Wellington in the second-spell, while for the visitors Toroa Rapana (Horowhenua-Kapiti) scored a beauty, with Raniera Petersen (Wairarapa-Bush) the best of the visiting team on the night.

(Junior Time-Taotua dots down for Wellington at Westpac Stadium : Photo Credit, Mike Lewis)

Meanwhile, at Tremain Field in Taradale on Saturday, Hawkes Bay were defeated 15 points to 5 by Manawatu, in game which saw all of the scoring action in the first half. The result means that either team may qualify for the Top 8 next week, although Manawatu will have a home fixture, while Hawkes Bay will need to travel to Wellington for their chance to play in the top-tier.

(Published : 24/08/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279