Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

Representative Round-Up For Saturday, 10 September

In addition to the reports already posted, the first round of the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield Under 18 Competition was successfully completed on Saturday afternoon, with wins recorded by Wairarapa-Bush, Wanganui and the WSRU Secondary School Team. (Scores can be found on the Points Tables tab of this web-site.)

(Wellington Samoan Schools - in blue - were hosted by Poverty Bay in Gisborne on Saturday)

In Gisborne in wintry conditions, the WSRU Secondary School Team won their match against Poverty Bay at Rugby Park, in a match played in great spirit. Poverty Bay CEO Marty Davis noted that “... it was a very entertaining game. Wellington contributed manfully to an enjoyable occasion. A great advertisement for the Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council.”

(The Wellington Samoan Secondary Schools Team following their match at Rugby Park)

Under 18 Rugby is crucial to keep players leaving secondary school actively involved in the game, providing them with an opportunity to wear their Provincial Union colours before embarking on their adult lives. Council Chairman, Gordon Noble-Campbell said “… our Clubs and Provincial Unions are key to the ongoing success and growth of the game, with the Under 18 Competition making that important link between school life and working life.”

(In Palmerston North, Hawkes Bay U16A defeated Wellington U16A by 32 points to 22)

In other pre-Tournament matches, the Wellington and Hawkes Bay Under 16 Teams met in Palmerston North before the first round of the Tournament next weekend with both Unions winning a match a-piece, while in another Tournament pre-season fixture, Manawatu defeated Poverty Bay by 19 points to 0.

(Published: 11/09/16)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Matt Taylor

027 509 6727