Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

New Hurricanes Trophy For Development 1XV Competition

With the goal of increasing participation by secondary schools in the region, the Council’s Executive Board has approved the establishment of new 1XV Competition for Boys, to compete for a new, yet to be named, trophy. Entry is limited to teams, nominated by their Provincial Union, who are not in-the-running for the Hurricanes Boys 1XV or Hurricanes Co-Ed 1XV competitions, as at 10 July 2019, when entries will close.

Semi-Finals will be played on Saturday, 24 August, with the Final being played in Palmerston North on Saturday, 31 August alongside the three other Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council secondary school Finals. The inaugural Semi-Finals will be (host region named first): the East Coast/Poverty Bay/Hawkes Bay Qualifier vs the Whanganui/Manawatu Qualifier; and the Wellington Qualifier vs the Wairarapa-Bush/Horowhenua-Kapiti Qualifier.

(Published : 03/07/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279