Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

Napier Boys And Feilding High Crowned Hurricanes Region Champions

Following Manukura’s earlier success in winning the Rex Kerr Cup and becoming Hurricanes Girls 1XV Champions for 2018, Napier Boys High School and Feilding High School achieved the region’s top-spots in the Boys and Co-Ed Competitions respectively, today.

On the newly renovated McLean Park ground in Napier, a crowd of around 4,000 were in attendance to see Napier Boys High School defeat Hastings Boys High School by 20 points to 10 and win the Hurricanes 1XV Cup from Hastings, the defending champions.

Following his team’s victory, Napier Boys Coach Brendon Ratcliffe noted that teams don't need "imports" to compete at the elite 1XV level in New Zealand. All of his players (apart from substitute forward Rob Slabbekorn who transferred from Lindisfarne College in year 10), have been at Napier Boys since Year 9.

You can read the full Match Report, by clicking here.

Feilding High School won the Hurricanes Co-Ed Cup with an emphatic 64 points to 12 win over Wairarapa College at Johnston Park in Feilding, running in three tries in the first 10 minutes.

Napier Boys' High School and Feilding High School will now join Manukura at the National Top 4 Play-Offs which get underway at the Sport & Rugby Institute in Palmerston North, next week.

(Published : 01/09/18)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Brad McLachlan

022 515 0372