Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Manukura Win Hurricanes Girls Under 15 Tournament

In the second-half of the Hurricanes Girls Under 15 Tournament Final, played at Playford Park, Levin this afternoon, Manukura (Manawatu RFU) pulled clear of St. Mary’s College (Wellington RFU) to win by 33 points to 5. The half-time score was only one-try a-piece, but clever use of the northerly breeze by Manukura in the second-half of the match created two chip-and-chase try-scoring opportunities for the athletic team from the Manawatu. Earlier St. Mary’s College had opened the scoring with what looked like a continuation of their previously unbeaten, ominous form.

The Tournament was generously hosted by Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU and featured ten teams from five of the Council’s eight member Provincial Unions. Final placings for the Tournament are below:

1. Manukura, (Manawatu RFU)

2. St. Mary's College, (Wellington RFU)

3. Ngati Porou East Coast,  (East Coast RFU)

4. Feilding High School, (Manawatu RFU)

5. Wainuiomata High School, (Wellington RFU)

6. Cullinane College, (Wanganui RFU)

7. Te Waiwhenua, (Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU)

8. Palmerston North Girls High School, (Manawatu RFU)

9. Mana College, (Wellington RFU)

10. Aotea College, (Wellington RFU)

(The Wainuiomata High School and Cullinane College teams on Tuesday)

The full Tournament Results can be downloaded here.

The Council would like to thank Aleni Feagaiga (Community Rugby Manager), Megan Qaranivalu (Levin College Old Boys), Marina Canterbury (New Zealand Rugby) and the wider Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU team for their work in creating a memorable event for the young rugby women of the Hurricanes region, in what has been a challenging year for hosting and managing rugby events.

With thanks to Steven White from, for the photos in this update.

(Published : 01/09/20)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279