Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Manawatu Teams Take Sevens Cup Titles At Rathkeale College

The seventh year of the annual Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Tournament lived up to expectation, with a competitive contest waged on a largely damp, but verdant venue at Rathkeale College in Masterton.

In the Boys Section of the Tournament, Feilding High School overcame St. Patrick’s College, Wellington by 34 points to 12, after leaping to a 24 points to 5 half-time lead. In the Semi-Finals, the Wellingtonians came from behind to register their first ever win (in any form of the game) against three-time champion Hastings Boys High School, by 17 points to 14. In the other Semi-Final, Feilding High School comprehensively defeated previously unbeaten Wanganui Collegiate.

Throughout pool-play, there was steady precipitation until sunshine broke out during the knock-out play-off fixtures. Hosts Rathkeale College finished third in their pool with two victories against Hato Paora College and Lindisfarne College, but were defeated by defending Cup champions, Palmerston North Boys High School by 35 points to 5 in the 5th/6th play-off.

The final rankings for the Boys Section of the Tournament were:

1. Feilding High School
2. St. Patrick’s College, Wellington
3. Hastings Boys’ High School
4. Whanganui Collegiate
5. Palmerston North Boys’ High School
6. Rathkeale College
7. Aotea College
8. Lindisfarne College
9. Hato Paora College
10. Waiopehu College

In the Girls Section of the Tournament, Manukura successfully defended their 2019 title against a competitive Feilding High School side in the Cup Final, narrowly winning by 24 points to 21. Feilding High School will be disappointed in their result, as it took a try by Manukura on full-time to take the title for 2020. Earlier, in pool play, Manukura had defeated Feilding High School by 33 points to 19.

The final rankings for the Girls Section of the Tournament were:

1. Manukura
2. Feilding High School
3. St. Mary’s College
4. Kapiti College
5. Whanganui High School

The Tournament was superbly managed by Cameron Hayton and Stacey Puddy from the Wairarapa-Bush Rugby Football Union, with referees kindly provided by both the Wairarapa-Bush and Wellington Rugby Referees Associations. The Council would like to warmly thank all those who contributed to the success of the 2020 Tournament.

(Published : 17/10/20)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279