Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Lindisfarne Regain Life Members Cup As Other Finalists Found

Hastings’ Lindisfarne College regained the Life Members Cup it last held in 2020, with a dominant 45 points to 7 win over Bishop Viard College (Porirua) in Bulls today.

(Lindisfarne College - in the striped jerseys - are the 2022 Life Members Cup champions)

Earlier in the week, Manukura broke a 17 all deadlock with a few minutes to play, to defeat St. Mary’s College in the Girls’ 1XV Final, winning the Rex Kerr Cup.

(Manukura - in the red jerseys - are the 2022 Rex Kerr Cup champions)

In other fixtures today, Wellington Boys 1XV Champions narrowly defeated Feilding High School by 13 points to 12 to advance to next week’s Hurricanes Cup Final against Napier Boys High School who overcame a 14 point half-time defict to defeat Hastings Boys High School by 20 points to 17.

In the Co-Ed competition, Whanganui Collegiate were far too strong for Upper Hutt College at Maidstone Park, advancing to next week’s final in Palmerston North with a convincing 50 point win, the score at the full-time whistle being 57 points to 7.

(Published : 27/08/22)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279