Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Hurricanes Under 18 Team For 2017 Announced

Twenty three players from seven secondary schools and two clubs in the Hurricanes region have been selected in the Hurricanes Under-18 squad to play the Crusaders Knights at Westpac Stadium on Saturday.

The announcement of the final Hurricanes Under 18 team comes at the end of an exhaustive five-day development camp at Rathkeale College in Masterton.

The Hurricanes Under-18 squad forms part of the comprehensive programme for teenage rugby administered by the Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council on behalf of the regions eight provincial unions.

HYRC Chairman Gordon Noble-Campbell said the region continued to be a key contributor to the sport on a national level. “The Hurricanes Region is a strong contributor to the strength of New Zealand rugby at all levels, both through our provincial union teams and our Investec Super Rugby affiliation with the Hurricanes. This team is an important part of growing that link to create future success.”

Hurricanes Under-18 Head Coach Darren Larsen said it had been incredibly difficult to select just 23 players from a group of 58. “It’s been a demanding process to select a squad from the huge pool of talent that was available to the selectors. Now we’re looking forward to the boys taking the learnings from the development camp this week and putting them toward a quality performance against the Knights.”

The match, which kicks off at 5.15pm, will be the curtain raiser to the Investec Super Rugby match between the Hurricanes and Crusaders at 7.35pm.

The squad includes players from across the Hurricanes region with players chosen from Hastings Boys’ High School (7), Feilding High School (4), Scots College (2), Wellington College (2), Napier Boys’ High School (2), Gisborne Boys’ High School (2) and St Patrick's College, Silverstream (2).

There are also two Wellington-based club players in Petone prop Kaliopasi Uluilakepa and Marist St. Pat's midfielder Billy Proctor. Players who do not currently attend secondary school in the region qualify under the team’s eligibility criteria based on their age and provincial union affiliation.

Hurricanes High Performance Manager Chris Stirling was thrilled with the ability of the group and the potential they offered for the future. “We consider the Hurricanes club fortunate to be able to select a team that represents some of the best youth talent in the region every year. The boys selected will value their opportunity to wear the Hurricanes jersey and become part of a growing tradition of recognising our emerging players.”

The Hurricanes Under-18s team to play the Crusaders Knights at Westpac Stadium is:

15 Danny Toala (Hastings BHS)
14 Dennon Robinson (Hastings BHS)
13 Josiah Maraku (Feilding High School)
12 Billy Proctor (Marist St Pats RFC)
11 Tai Neli (Scots College)
10 Lincoln McClutchie (Hastings BHS)
9 Folau Fakatava (Hastings BHS)
8 Devan Flanders (Hastings BHS)
7 Josh Southall (St Patrick's College, Silverstream)
6 Josh Bokser (Napier Boy's High)
5 Taine Plumtree (Wellington College
4 Naitoa Ah Kuoi (Wellington College)
3 Kaliopasi Uluilakepa (Petone RFC)
2 Kianu Kereru-Symes (Hastings BHS)
1 Josiah Metcalfe (Hastings BHS)


16 Billy Priestley (Gisborne BHS)
17 Jack Fleury (Feilding High School)
18 Ethan McQuinlan (Feilding High School)
19 Quade Tapsell (Gisborne BHS)
20 Tyler Moeau (Feilding High School)
21 Humphrey Sheild (Napier BHS)
22 Kienan De La Rambelje (St Patrick's College, Silverstream)
23 Jaylen Tuapola (Scots College)

*Live coverage of the match will be broadcast on Te Upoko Radio 1161AM (and on, search on “Te Upoko”).



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279