Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

Hurricanes Under 15 Girls Tackle & Rip Rugby Tournament

Eligible secondary schools are now invited to enter the Hurricanes Under 15 Girls Rugby Tournament. 

Hosted on behalf of the Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council by the Horowhenua-Kapiti Rugby Union, the Tournament will be held from Monday 31st August to Tuesday 1st September, during Winter Tournament Week. All games will be played at Playford Park in Levin.

This year, we are including a Rip Rugby Grade which will run alongside the Tackle Tournament. We feel this will be a good way for new players to experience Rugby Union, through the non-contact form of the game.

Entry Forms are required to be completed and returned by Friday 14th August.

For further information concerning the Tournament, don't hesitate to contact the Tournament Administrator, Aleni Feagaiga, by e-Mail at, or by calling Aleni, on 021 610 639.

(Published : 23/07/20)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Brad McLachlan

022 515 0372