Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

Hurricanes Secondary School Champions For 2016

In blustery conditions at the Central Energy Trust Arena at Palmerston North, the Hurricanes’ Region representatives to play in the Top 4 National Secondary School Play-Offs were found on Saturday.

In the Girls’ Division, St. Mary’s College continued their dominant regional form, with a decisive 58 points to 12 victory over Feilding High School to win the Rex Kerr Cup.

Wairarapa College started their challenge for the title strongly in the Co-Ed Division, leaping out to a 15 points to 5 lead at half-time against Feilding High School, however Feilding kept Wairarapa score-less in the second-half while scoring 26 points to win the match by 31 points to 15.

The Hurricanes 1XV Cup in the Boys’ Division was easily won by Hastings Boys’ High School who have not been seriously challenged by any opposition this season. They comfortably defeated Wellington College by 40 points to 14 and look to offer short-odds to win the national title in 2016.

Best wishes are extended to all three teams as they look to win National Titles over the coming weekend (2 to 4 September) at Massey University Sport & Rugby Institute in Palmerston North.

(Published : 28/08/16)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Brad McLachlan

022 515 0372