Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Hastings Boys’ And New Plymouth Girls’ Win Hurricanes Schools Sevens

At Massey University in Palmerston North on Saturday, secondary school teams from Wellington, Manawatu, Hawkes Bay, Wanganui and Taranaki competed in the third annual Hurricanes Schools Sevens Tournament.

In the Boys’ Cup Final, defending champions Hastings Boys’ High School retained their Hurricanes Schools Sevens Boys’ title by defeating St. Patrick’s College (Wellington) by 33 points to 22, in a free-flowing game featuring a number of Hurricanes Under 18 and New Zealand Schools’ representatives.

In the Girls’ Cup Final, New Plymouth Girls’ High School were winners over Manukura College (Palmerston North), by 12 points to 10.

Earlier, Hastings Boys’ had overcome Feilding High School by 22 points to 0 in the first Boys’ Cup Semi-Final, while St. Patrick’s College were convincing 43 points to 5 winners over Palmerston North Boys’ High School in the second Boys’ Cup Semi-Final, setting up a replay of the 2015 Cup Final won by Hastings.

In perhaps the upset result of the Tournament, Feilding High School Girls’ were defeated by Manukura College by 10 points to 5 in the first Girls’ Cup Semi-Final, while in the second Girls’ Cup Semi-Final New Plymouth Girls’ High School defeated Palmerston North Girls’ High School.

At the conclusion of competition, Kini Naholo (Boys’ Section) and Brooke Neilson (Girls’ Section) were named Players of the Tournament, with the following Tournament Teams selected.

Boys’ Tournament Team:
Zane Dallinger (Feilding High School); Billy Proctor (St. Patrick’s College); Sam Baylis (St. Patrick’s College); Pena Va'a (Rongotai College); Kini Naholo (Hastings Boys’ High School); Danny Toala (Hastings Boys’ High School); Trent Hape (Hastings Boys’ High School).

Girls Tournament Team: Layla Sae (St. Peter’s College, Palmerston North); Meilini Meo (Wanganui Girls’ High School); Georgia Ponsonby (Feilding High School); Mikayla Callaghan (New Plymouth Girls’ High School); Brooke Neilson (New Plymouth Girls’ High School); Hana Wainohu (Manukura College); Isabella Rawiri-Wharerau (Manukura College).

The final 2016 Tournament Rankings are shown below.

Boys’ Section: (1) Hastings Boys’ High School; (2) St. Patrick’s College (Wellington); (3) Palmerston North Boys’ High School; (4) Feilding High School; (5) Rongotai College, Wellington; (6) Lindisfarne College, Hastings; (7) St. Patrick’s College, Wellington (B); (8) Palmerston Boys’ High School (B); and (9) Freyberg High School, Palmerston North.

Girls’ Section:
(1) New Plymouth Girls’ High School; (2) Manukura College; (3) Feilding High School; (4) Palmerston North Girls’ High School; (5) St. Peter’s College, Palmerston North; (6) Wanganui Girls’ High School; (7) Freyberg High School, Palmerston North; and (8) Cullinane College, Wanganui.

On behalf of all involved, the Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council Inc. would like to thank the staff and match officials of the Manawatu Rugby Football Union for their role in organising and managing the Tournament.

(Published: 18/10/16)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279