Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Wellington, Manawatu And Hawkes Bay Schools Through To National Top 4

Three teams representing the Hurricanes region will make their way to the New Zealand Schools Rugby Council Top 4 Play-Offs next week, following the 2017 Hurricanes Schools Regional Finals played at CET Arena in Palmerston North on Saturday.

In the Boys’ section, Hastings Boys’ High School will appear for the second time in two years, having maintained their dominant form with a 30 point win over previously undefeated St. Patrick’s College, Silverstream, 47 points 17.

In the Co-Ed section, Porirua College suffered a narrow 11 points to 15 loss against Feildling High School, meaning the Manawatu side will represent the region in next week’s play-offs.

And in the Girls’ section, St. Mary’s College from Wellington were too strong for Manukura College from Palmerston North, winning by 31 points to 10.

You can read a summary of all fixtures courtesy of Club Rugby, by clicking here.

Or, you can listen to a replay of the Boys’ Final, courtesy of Te Upoko Radio 1161AM (,nz), by using the media player, below.

(Published : 03/09/17)





Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279