Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for eight Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's, in two pools.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Hurricanes Heartland Team Named To Meet Hawkes Bay

The following team has been selected for Round 1 of the Central Region Shield.

1 WIKI Dallas Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU
2 COVENY Kohlt Wanganui RFU
3 BUSH Lewis Wairarapa-Bush RFU
4 ROKOTAKALA Josefa Wanganui RFU
5 TAUATUVALU Ofa Poverty Bay RFU
6 MYERS Jason Wanganui RFU
7 SHERIDAN Chase Poverty Bay RFU
8 PEREKA Xavier Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU
9 RAUHIHI Josh Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU
10 MURPHY Arana Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU
11 RAPANA Toroa Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU
12 TOKOTAUA-MUMBY Tiari Wanganui RFU
13 GORDON Joe Wairarapa-Bush RFU
14 MEIHANA Tipene Ngati Porou East Coast RFU
15 PAPE Sean Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU
16 BRETT Ethan Poverty Bay RFU
17 WRIGHT Stan Wairarapa-Bush RFU
18 ITIELU Poleka Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU
19 WAKEFIELD Zac Wairarapa-Bush RFU
20 PEARCE Moses Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU
21 MEUNIER Lamaire Wanganui RFU
22 ROBERTSON Jamie-Lee Wanganui RFU
23 O'LEARY Jack Wanganui RFU

(Published : 16/08/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Nardine Stokes

021 265 0085