Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 Team Secure Historic Victory

On Saturday evening, the Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 team played the Chiefs Heartland Under 20 side at McLean Park, in Napier, winning the inaugural "Glen Osborne Cup" by 38 points to 24, after leading by 26 points to 14 at half-time.

(Glen Osborne played for the Chiefs from 1996 to1998, before moving to the Hurricanes in 1999).

The match was the curtain-raiser to the much-anticipated Ranfurly Shield challenge between Hawkes Bay RFU and Wellington RFU and was New Zealand's first match between representative Heartland Provincial Union selections, selected from their Super Rugby franchise regions.

It was great to see our regional rangatahi represent the Hurricanes in this fixture. This opportunity will no doubt be remembered as an important stepping-stone in their future playing careers, representing their respective Provincial Unions.

(The 2022 Hurricanes Heartland team, ahead of kick-off at McLean Park, Napier)

The team which won the inaugural Glen Osborne Cup was as follows:

1 PUAPII Stanley (Whanganui RFU)
2 PARKE George (Wairarapa-Bush RFU)
3 FONOTI Henry (Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU)
4 HIGGINSON Callum (VC) (Wairarapa-Bush RFU)
5 HARVEY Mikaere (Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU)
6 MCGLASHAN Cody (Wairarapa-Bush RFU)
7 TICHBON Neo (Whanganui RFU)
8 KARAITANA Tawhiwhi (Whanganui RFU)
9 MEIHANA Rehimana (Whanganui RFU)
10 ESCHENBACH Fredrick (Wairarapa-Bush RFU)
12 TAKIARI-AH CHING Lafo (C) (Whanganui RFU)
13 FALANIKO Darren (VC) (Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU)
14 COOPER Hayden (Wairarapa-Bush RFU)
15 HOSKING Max (Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU)
16 COOPER Heremaia (Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU)
17 LULI Oscar (Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU)
18 HAWKINS Caedman (Wairarapa-Bush RFU)
19 HOLLIS Kyah (Poverty Bay RFU)
20 WATERSON James (Wairarapa-Bush RFU)
21 BUCK Henry (Wairarapa-Bush RFU)
22 KARAITANA Tarquin (Wairarapa-Bush RFU)
23 SELLERS Anthony (Whanganui RFU)
HEMI Mitai (Whanganui RFU)
25 ALAGA Caleb (Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU)

The Executive Board would like to congratulate Head Coach, Darren Larsen, Team Manager, Chris Back and all the team support staff in creating this milestone achievement for the Council.

(Published : 17/09/22)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279