Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Hawkes Bay And Manawatu Share Secondary School Final Spoils

Two of the Hurricanes region’s three spots at next week’s National Top 4 Championships to be played in Palmerston North will be taken by Manawatu schools following today’s Hurricanes Secondary School Finals, with the third spot being won by Hawkes Bay.

In the Boys Final for the Hurricanes Cup, played in perfect conditions at Massey University, Hastings Boys High School overcame a gallant Palmerston North Boys High School side, earning a comprehensive 45 points to 15 victory.

(Beaten finalists in 2018, Hastings Boys High School are Hurricanes Champions in 2019)

In the Girls Final played at the CET Arena, St. Mary’s College had no answer for a dominant Manukura team who ran away with the game by 50 points to nil.

(The scoreboard says it all at Palmerston North's CET Arena)

The Co-Ed Final featured a similar score-line, as Feilding High School delivered a rugby lesson to Wellington’s top Co-Ed school, Aotea College winning by 54 points to 6.

(Feilding High School qualify for the National Top 4 Finals, defeating Aotea College)

In the final Final played today, the inaugural Life Members Cup was won by Lindisfarne College in another high-scoring encounter, 56 points to 7 against Hutt International Boys School.

(Lindisfarne College win the inaugural Life Members Cup)

Hastings Boys will return to Palmerston North next weekend, along with Manawatu’s Manukura and Feilding High School to contest the National Top 4 play-offs.

The Council would like to acknowledge the work of Nick Reid (Manawatu Secondary School Rugby Union) for his work in organising the logistics for today's Secondary School Final matches.

(Published : 31/08/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279