Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

Festival Of Rugby Concludes For Hurricanes Under 14 Players

The all-weather surface at Wellington’s Wakefield Park was needed for the Hurricanes Under 14 Festival, as “Winter Tournament Week” lived-up to its name today, with a southerly-blast from Cook Strait as the 2020 Festival for Under 14 players concluded. Eight of the ten competing teams tasted victory over the three days of the Festival, which aimed to create an enjoyable opportunity for experiencing the camaraderie of rugby, for young secondary school players.

(The Ngati Porou East Coast and St. Bernard's College teams, after their match today)

In summarising the action over the past three days, Festival Organiser and Council Secretary David Fa’atafa said to all participating schools that he hoped the Festival added, “to your players' enjoyment and development, and has provided a great rugby experience.” He also noted that, “we know it takes a lot of work behind the scenes to get teams to events like this, so a big thank you to all coaches, managers, drivers, and adult supporters for [their] help.”

(You can find a full gallery of Festival photos at

The Council would like to extend its sincere thanks to David Fa'atafa and the team from College Sport Wellington, who made the 2020 Festival possible. The support of the Wellington Rugby Referees Association was also greatly appreciated. You can see the full Festival scores by clicking here.

(Published : 02/09/20)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Brad McLachlan

022 515 0372