Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

East Coast Rangatahi Honour Memory Of Rugby Kaumatua

The Finalists for the Hurricanes Under 16 Tournament were determined on Wednesday, with Hawkes Bay RFU (as top seed) to play Manawatu RFU for the Don Broughton Shield on Saturday in Palmerston North.

In Division B of the Tournament, defending championships Wellington RFU will play Poverty Bay RFU  for the Saracens Cup in the curtain-raiser for the Division A contest.

The seedings and fixtures for the Consolation Finals can be found here.

On Wednesday, at George Nepia Memorial Park in Rangitukia, near East Cape, Ngati Porou East Coast RFU hosted Hawkes Bay RFU (Development) in Division B of the Tournament.

George Nepia is buried within sight of the ground which bears his name and there is no doubt that the kaumatua of Ngati Porou East Coast Rugby would have been proud of the local rangatahi who, despite being defeated by 10 points to 36, offered a tough challenge for their southern East Coast neighbours.

Ngati Porou East Coast were the first to score and despite receiving a yellow-card suspension, at half-time only trailed the visitors by two points, 10-12. In the second spell, Hawkes Bay were able to pull away and secure the hosting rights for the 3rd/4th play-off against Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU which will be played at Napier's McLean Park on Saturday afternoon.

(Published : 06/10/21)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279