Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for eight Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's, in two pools.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Draw Announced For 2020 Secondary School Sevens Tournament

The Draw is now available for this Saturday's Secondary School Sevens Tournament, which will be hosted by Wairarapa-Bush RFU at Rathkeale College, in Masterton, with games commencing from 10.00am.

A final group of 16 teams, comprising three pools, will compete in the Boys' and Girls' sections.

Pool A (Boys' Section)
Hato Paora College, (Manawatu RFU)
Feilding High School, (Manawatu RFU)
Lindisfarne College, (Hawkes Bay RFU)
Rathkeale College, (Wairarapa-Bush RFU)
Hastings Boys High School, (Hawkes Bay RFU)

Pool B (Boys' Section)
St. Patrick's College, Wellington, (Wellington RFU)
Waiopehu College, (Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU)
Whanganui Collegiate, (Wanganui RFU)
Aotea College, (Wellington RFU)
Palmerston North Boys' High School, (Manawatu RFU)

Pool C (Girls' Section)
Whanganui High School, (Wanganui RFU)
Feilding High School, (Manawatu RFU)
St. Mary's College, (Wellington RFU)
Kapiti College, (Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU)
Manukura, (Manawatu RFU)
Ruapehu College, (Wanganui RFU)

You can also download a PDF version of the Tournament Draw, by clicking here.

(Published : 14/10/20)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Nardine Stokes

021 265 0085